Mind Storm

Saturday, March 14, 2009

When I watch a movie, or listen to a song, or read, I am sometimes struck by a particular concept, or emotion, or idea. This seed germinates in my mind, and sometimes gives rise to new derivatives of itself, different variants and versions of the former embryo, plumbing deep into my memory to retrieve older experiences. My brain is struck by a thousand revelations and recollections as it struggles to contain and interpret all the different things I have known or want to know. Concepts I have yet to explore. Emotions I have yet to understand. Ideas I have yet to grandiosely define. I am sometimes too disorganized to compartmentalize them, so I can study why they excite me so, yet experiencing them all together in the same breath makes me feel like I’ve discovered some sort of unified theory of my worldviews and values. It’s quite crazy to think you see everything at once in clear sight, and then at once it is plunged into smoke and mirrors again.

Leave a Reply

