Picture me picturing you

Thursday, October 16, 2008

Kneeling down, I stroked the picture on the tombstone: it had been a year since you left us, but the dreams recently returned, and for the briefest of moments, I thought you were home. I leaned in close and whispered: “I think I might not visit for a long time, don’t get too lonely, okay?” I kissed your smiling face. I stood up, and looked into the summer sky: nothing but blue skies for as far as the eye could see. As I walked away from you, I couldn’t help but think about how you always loved summer.

Yeah. You would’ve loved it here. I smiled to myself.

Leave a Reply

