On the nature of adversity

Thursday, August 28, 2008

There are two ways of meeting difficulties: you alter the difficulties or you alter yourself meeting them.
Phyllis Bottome

I think I have mostly spent my life in ‘easy times’. So to speak. I would dare say I had a faith unchallenged, an intellect untaxed, a body untested. So I lack the foundations of what would make one an adequately-equipped human being, designed to withstand and adapt to his surroundings and constantly shifting circumstances; that is, a lifetime’s cycle of never-ending trials and rewards. In the same way a body builds muscle by breaking it down in small parts, so too do I need to break my life down into small everyday challenges, I suppose. Keep it interesting; keep it challenging.

Never too late to learn, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

