Touchstone memories

Sunday, June 29, 2008

I was looking through my messages on my phone when I stumbled across your old ones from a year ago. It’s funny to think how comfortable we used to be with each other, and how easy it was to be friends then. And how much wintry breath had settled onto us this year. I don’t know what became of you, but I grew harder, angrier, and more alone. I told myself that you had gone where no one should have been able to go. I learnt to keep my mouth shut about many things. And yet? I still miss your laughter, your insights, your stories. You once told me I was more of myself when with you, and I found that I miss that person too. I hope you are doing well, girl.

Leave a Reply

